Signs of Spring

Winter’s snow has almost melted as I write this (April 5, Easter).  In March, our camera club assignment was to find signs of spring.  It was a hard theme to work with as most areas still had deep snow, but it had started melting around our yard and I found a few things that interested me.

Melting patches 1

Melting patches 1

The above photo was from an upstairs window at one end of our house.  Use your imagination — what does it look like?  Two birds? Or?  The next one is from the other end of the house, same patch; looks like a man’s mustache to me; someone else thought it looks like angel wings!

Melting patch 2

Melting patch 2

On our deck.

Just a bit of icy snow forms in interesting pattern

Just a bit of icy snow forms in interesting pattern

Leaf encased by snow

Leaf encased by snow

Mini-daffodil tips under ice

Mini-daffodil tips under ice

Canada Geese

Canada Geese

A sure sign of spring — Canada Geese in V formation!

Has spring (or fall, depending on your area) shown itself to you?

4 responses to “Signs of Spring

  1. Aha Donna, signs of Spring!

  2. It’s hard to believe that just a month ago here in CT I wrote in my diary that my husband was lighting the kerosene heater to keep us warm in our drafty house, and I was blogging obsessively about tree circles!! http://fpnaturalist.com/2015/03/17/bumper-crop-of-tree-circles/
    I also remember that shortly after that we had another snowfall that filled the circles in. Curses!
    Now people are out strolling, enjoying the milder clime. I took photos of mourning doves and a red winged blackbird in the trees. Took my son frogging. I think if I left New England I’d miss the swooning anticipation and heady first days of spring.
    Katherine, fpnaturalist.com

    • Katherine, I’m sure you would miss New England! We moved to Florida for a year back in the 70’s, and it was nice to get out of the snow, but I did miss the change of seasons and my “normal” life.

Leave a Reply

