Seasonal Flooding

We live in an area that is prone to some spring flooding, as well as other times.  With heavy rain and melting snow over the weekend, these pictures show what was  across the road from my house Monday morning, on a flat area adjacent to Oneida Creek.  This creek is the boundary between two counties as it flow through my area.

View from an upstairs window.
View from an upstairs window.
Another view from above
Another view from above

This last view is from our front porch.  The red house sits at the top of a hill, and it looks as though the flooding might be at their back door, but the hill is high, and I do not think they ever have any problem with flooding coming into their house.

Behind neighbor's house.
Behind neighbor’s house.

Normally, Oneida Creek is a rather quiet, gentle flowing stream, but when it rains, look out\!  All the area in this above pictures should be creek in the rear, low, flat land in the foreground!  We are also above the creek on another hill, safe and dry.

5 responses to “Seasonal Flooding

  1. Reblogged this on Writerraebeth’s Weblog and commented:
    Rising waters, swelling life, it is Spring

  2. Hope you are safe, Donna!

  3. This is a very interesting perspective on the flooding. I liked your photos and the way you expressed yourself, too. It does seem like the creek is going to invade the red home! I am so glad you are safe and dry!
    I nominated you for five awards! Congratulations and if you wish to know more about them, please check out my blog. Also, you will find details on the ones who nominated me for the 5 awards!

    • Thank you very much for your comments, Reocochran; I’m glad you’ve enjoyed my post! However, as I have noted on my “about” page, I enjoy readers’ comments, but will not accept awards. See:

Leave a Reply

