Lilac Time

Lilacs all in a Row

Another of my spring favorites is in bloom — lilacs.  We have several bushes in a row, planted only a few years, and this year they are outdoing any other flowering they’ve had.  Conditions seem to be “perfect” this year for the growth of many spring favorites.
Blooms so heavy they bend the stalk
Blooms so heavy they bend the stalk
Reaching Skyward
Reaching Skyward
With every leaf a miracle . . . and from this bush in the door-yard, With delicate-colour’d blossoms, and heart-shaped leaves of rich green A sprig with its flower, I break.Walt Whitman,
When Lilacs Last in the Door-Yard Bloom’d (III, Leaves of Grass)

Quote source:  HERE

4 responses to “Lilac Time

  1. Donna, I love the smell of lilacs.

  2. So do I, Ravi. I wish I could share them; their fragrance is amazing this year.

  3. I wish I was in that field! 😀

Leave a Reply

