Sage

A few days ago, I wrote about some things blooming early (“Changes”) — my chives in my herb garden, wild buttercups and forget-me-nots, and I included a photo of my sage plant in bud.  Since then, they have blossomed out and give me a very familiar scent as I brush past the bushy plant by our back door when I go out to hang the laundry.

Blowing in the Wind

Yesterday, it was even waving its blue faces at me in the strong breeze.

Sage in Bloom

Rosemary and thyme are another two very fragrant herbs.  Rosemary is not hardy in my area, so I grow it inside in a pot year-round (or as long as it will grow for me inside!), and I stop to finger it’s leaves to gather the scent on my hand when I’m watering it.   Now I’m trying to grow some thyme inside, too, as the plants are so small, it’s very hard to keep track of them in an herb bed with bigger plants like sage or chives trying to take over the space.  So I hope it will do better for me inside.

6 responses to “Sage

  1. I always loved to have a nice herb garden and many potted around the old place, they give so much for so little i found. 🙂

  2. I was wondering about planting my potted thyme, maybe the rosemary, too, outside for the summer — if it would survive when brought back in for the winter. Any thoughts on that?

  3. I used to put mine in a “summer kitchen” for the winter, it would be cool but not freezing, and some years I was lucky to harvest all winter. Other time they would suffer from the cold and lack of sun. Always a gamble.

  4. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as clean as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

